Day 30: The End!

Saturday was the last day of the Whole 30, my husband’s birthday, and moving day – so it was not an easy one. We got off on the right foot with eggs for breakfast, but the day quickly got away from us. I munched on apples, bananas, and almonds throughout the day while everyone else ate the leftover pizza I’d brought home from work. By the time we arrived at our new home two hours south, I was absolutely starving. Fortunately there was food in the fridge from the nights my husband had been spending there, so I enjoyed some delicious cold Whole 30 meatloaf.

image

Grateful to my sibs for all their help packing!

Packing the moving truck, cleaning the rental, driving south with the baby, the dogs, and the snake, then unpacking the moving truck and returning it, was absolutely exhausting. And there was still my husband’s birthday to celebrate. It would have been easy to give up and have cake and pizza. It was day 30 after all. But I’ve been wanting to do this thing right – reintroducing things one at a time. And it was surprisingly straightforward to stick to the plan even while my husband enjoyed some birthday treats.

I made a compromise. Day 31 was supposed to be introducing legumes, so I introduced them a bit early, the evening of day 30. I enjoyed hummus with some veggies with dinner, and snacked on popcorn while we watched a movie in our new house. My goal is to stay tuned into my body and my baby’s behavior as we reintroduce things one at a time.

Regardless of what happens through this process. I’m proud to say that I’ve completed my 4th Whole 30. While I thought there was no way I could do it with baby in tow, it was actually easier than the first three. With so much going on in our lives, it felt empowering and comforting to have this one very complicated part of my life under control.

2 thoughts on “Day 30: The End!

  1. Pingback: Day 28: Cycle class! | Whole 30 Days of Motherhood

  2. Pingback: Day 29: pizza party | Whole 30 Days of Motherhood

Leave a Reply

