On breakfast and collards

Pretty proud of my Whole 30 fridge (the milk is my beau's, not mine).

Pretty proud of my Whole 30 fridge (the milk is my beau’s, not mine).

The last few days have been a rollercoaster. Day 11 I woke up with a ton of energy. I was solo on baby duty that morning and managed to get a ton of things done before daycare dropoff. I pumped, got ready for work, stripped the veins from my collards to prep them for dinner, and cubed pineapple. Lately I have been preparing my breakfast the night before and eating it when I get to work the next day. This is technically not Whole 30. The program recommends having your breakfast within 1 hour of waking up in the morning to jump start your metabolism and get your hormones working properly for the day. But Day 11 and Day 12 mornings have been critical time for me to get my shop in order. I can’t prep veggies and do laundry at work. I can eat breakfast at work.

A pretty accurate portrayal of my life right now - just trying to stay on top of it all.

A pretty accurate portrayal of my life right now – just trying to stay on top of it all.

Despite my morning energy by lunch time I am starving. I ate the salmon cakes with broccoli and avocado slices leftover from the weekend, but was not enough. I used my lunch break to make a trip to Lowe’s for wallpaper remover and ended up at Trader Joe’s buying one green pepper, a few bananas, some guacamole and a Lara bar. I managed not to eat the Lara bar, but saved it for a true emergency instead, when I don’t have the time or ability to run to the store. I awoke from my post-lunch slump when it was time to pick-up the baby and was reinvigorated by the site of her. At home my husband and I launched into a meal preparing frenzy, with him cooking up baby bottles on one side of the kitchen and me cooking collards and potatoes on the other. We threw together most of our breakfasts and lunches for the rest of the week, plus some of our dinners we have to have separately because he’s spending some nights in our new house while I’m holding down the fort in our rental. It will be a beautiful thing when he’s not commuting to work anymore and we’re all together more often.

I like collards okay. But my partner loves them and I love cooking them! Here they are served over some white potatoes with sausage.

I like collards okay. But my partner loves them and I love cooking them! Here they are served over some white potatoes with sausage.

All the crazy meal prep worked wonders for Day 12, which went off without a hitch. Baby to daycare with all her bottles, mama happy with all her Whole 30 meals, and daddy has a microwavable dinner in a house with very few kitchen supplies. And we’re equally prepared for tomorrow, which features a new Whole 30 Days of Motherhood challenge – our first Whole 30 restaurant meal with baby in tow! Stay tuned.

Now let’s just hope this sweet little baby sleeps through the night!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

