Day 19: Reebok

image

I’m a brand loyalist. I don’t know how I developed this but I always have been. I think it has something to do with my grandparents’ fierce loyalty to Sears appliances. (Did I mention one of my wedding registries was at Sears?) I like Imperial margarine, Kikkoman soy sauce, Arm & Hammer laundry detergent, Crest toothpaste, and everything made by Vans.

As a high school athlete my allegiance was with Adidas. The shoes, the bag, the workout clothes. I didn’t have a need for that kind of loyalty later in life, so I picked whatever was cheapest. After college, after gaining significant weight, one year for my birthday I was shopping at an outlet mall and went into the Reebok store. I bought a very cheap long sleeve, short collared, breathable running shirt. I remember it being just a few dollars. Running through the Michigan winters, it was my go-to running shirt. I must have worn it for every December-March run. I don’t have as much use for it in North Carolina, but I still have it and still use it. I also got a fabulous running fleece from my sister-in-law that I’ve worked into my winter running rotation. A couple years after my first outlet visit I went again and got two sports bras on the cheap. I still have those too! (It’s absolutely time to replace them.)

image

In my swanky new Rebook fleece!

I don’t remember owning or caring about Reebok when I was young, though of course I remember the sneakers you could pump up. And I’ve still never owned Reebok shoes. But it turns out they make other great clothes that have carried me through hard training times. I’ve mentioned before my trouble finding clothes that fit well, and workout clothes are no exception. I’m grateful that I’ve always been able to find what I need from Reebok! And at decent prices.

image

A not-so-flattering post-run picture in my go-to Reebok running shirt. I think this was the Hot Chocolate Hustle in Adrian, MI.

Leave a Reply

