Day Fifteen – My Best Friend

Today feels like a banner day. If we were doing a full 30 days, we’d be at the halfway mark. But we’re only doing 25, so today we have 10 days left. Plus, after this I just have one more weekend to get through. I know I can do 10 days. And I’ve been doin more than just getting through this weekend I’ve been doing great! So in honor of this milestone, let’s celebrate something truly amazing, or rather, someone – my husband.

I visited Conner in Montana during his intensive writing program.

I visited Conner in Montana during his intensive writing program.

I met my husband during the ‘bad’ year I’ve mentioned before – my senior year of college. I turned 21, had a lot to celebrate, including our new relationship. You can read more about our story here. It was one of the best years of my life but it was hell on my budget and on my waistline. That was true for both of us. But when the honeymoon was over we finally wised up and started taking our health seriously.  We’ve been fitness partners, instead of drinking partners, ever since. It started with the abs diet. We carefully planned our meals each week – grocery shopped together, cooked together, then we got memberships and started working out together – lifting weights. Three times a week we were at the gym together doing our circuit.

with half of our Ragnar Relay team

with half of our Ragnar Relay team

When I trained for my first 5k he helped push me out the door each night. And the morning of the race he woke me up (I’m not a morning person), made my breakfast, drove me, took pictures for me, waited for me to finish, congratulated me, then took me out for another breakfast. He was right there with me training for my first triathlon – on the bike, in the water, running barefoot sprints on the soccer field – beside me. Then we finally trained for a race we both ran, the Detroit Half Marathon. We tried to train for the full marathon together but he got a couple of stress fractures and had to stop half way through. But he was still beside me – drove the course to meet up with me, bring me snacks and gatorade. He’s waited countless hours for me to finish running (I’m not very fast if you hadn’t figured that out yet). He dives head first… almost… into whatever challenge I ask him to do with me – The Tough Mudder, The Ragnar Relay, the Whole 30, fostering 2 rescue puppies during a very stressful time at his job (that’s not related, but still, what a trooper).

our wedding

our wedding

He cooks, he cleans, he takes amazing care of me. He understands that food has an unnatural hold on me and that it will take an uncommon determination to break it. He also knows it’s important to my family and that my family is everything to me. He supports my health goals while pursuing his own. He’s also accomplished some of this own personal health goals that have improved both our lives in a number of ways this year. I know he really loves me. I know he would do anything for me – including an 8 mile run on an 80 degree day in Oklahoma on the first day of college football season on our vacation. His mother told me she’d never in a million years imagine him doing that.

296593_10100921729897713_865689901_n

picking up our packets for the Detroit Half Marathon

He takes care of himself for me too. He lets me tell him when to go to the doctor and joins me at the dentist. There are one million other reasons he’s the right one for me but that would take a lot more time for me to explain. In our wedding vows we promised to be lifetime partners – true partners – and we really are. I’m so grateful for this man in my life who supports all my goals, even when he’s tired of having salad for dinner on a Friday night. And when the time comes, if the time comes, he’ll be a wonderful father who will take the same exceptional care of our children as he does of me.

Here’s to my workout partner, my meal planner, my running buddy, my teammate, my dog co-parent, my motivation, my coach, my logical thinker, my optimist, and my best friend!

Macrae Peak on Grandfather Mountain in NC

Macrae Peak on Grandfather Mountain in NC

Grotto Falls NC

Grotto Falls NC

Tar Heel 10 Miler 2013

Tar Heel 10 Miler 2013

Bull City Race Fest in Durham 2014

Bull City Race Fest in Durham 2014

DNA Day 5k 2014

DNA Day 5k 2014

2 thoughts on “Day Fifteen – My Best Friend

Leave a Reply

