Day Thirteen: weight lifting!

It’s day 13! Check me out!

image

And it’s partly thanks to weight lifting! I believe strongly that every woman should lift weights if they’re so inclined – free weights in particular. There’s something very empowering about kicking ass in a male-dominated space. I like getting strong. And you can see your progress crazy fast. I can add between 5 and 10 pounds to almost every exercise every week, compared to being at the same 5k time for what seems like ages. Of course if you take more than a week off it feels like you’re back at the starting weight.

Today I’m back at my Y lifting weights and feeling great. I may not be the machine I was in high school, but I feel pretty confident in this workout space, I know I belong here. I’m grateful for participating in a high school sport that gave me confidence in the weight room. It was not feminine or popular at all, which was hard for me back then, but has done wonders for my confidence as an adult.

I have totally rebound from my day eleven set back. And now I’m challenging you to get out there and do something that makes you feel strong! It’s Friday!

2 thoughts on “Day Thirteen: weight lifting!

  1. you look awesome! I can tell how much more confident you are! I’m ready to get back to work and the gym at my new job has free weights. Do you have a lifting plan you follow? I have no idea where to start but I’m excited to get to it soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

